DMV Texas · Fees, age, and practice test
Texas Permit Test: Cost, Age, and DMV Facts
Start the free Texas practice testSourced procedural facts for Texas DMV, plus a free 500-question practice test with real sign images and audio.
Free Texas DMV practice test with 500 practice questions written from the official Texas Driver Handbook, each with an explanation and a handbook page citation. No signup and no ads. The Texas Driver Handbook states a 70% passing score but does not specify a fixed Class C question count. Page updated 2026-10-12.
Also here: flashcards for the whole bank, a one-page cheat sheet, handbook lessons, chapter by chapter, and audio read-aloud for questions.
How many questions are on the Texas permit test?
The Texas Driver Handbook states a 70% passing score but does not specify a fixed Class C question count.
See the official source · Checked 2026-10-18 against the official text on file.
How much does the Texas permit test cost?
Texas DPS lists application fees rather than a separate knowledge test fee: a learner license costs $16 for applicants under 18, and adult license fees vary by age.
- Learner permit / application fee: Learner license (under 18), new: $16 (expires on your 18th birthday)
- Initial driver license fee: $16 under 18; $33 ages 18-84 for eight years; $9 age 85+ for two years
Source: Texas DPS - Driver License Division · Fee source checked 2026-10-05. Our 500-question Texas practice test is free and separate from these DMV fees.
Is the Texas permit test hard?
Texas sets the pass mark at 70%, but the handbook does not give a question count, so we cannot say how many misses are allowed.
Every question comes from the Texas Driver Handbook, so reading it and practicing until you pass consistently is the most direct preparation.
What do I need to bring to the Texas DMV for a permit?
The official Texas checklist for a permit has 14 items, covering application, identity, lawful presence, Social Security number, residency, parent or guardian, driver education, fees and vision test.
Who this list covers: First-time noncommercial Texas learner license applicants ages 15-17, applying for supervised passenger-vehicle driving. Adult first-time applicants use the separate adult Class C process; out-of-state transfers, hardship licenses, renewals and road tests are outside this checklist.
- Completed driver license application
- One primary identity document, two secondary documents, or one secondary plus two supporting documents
- Legal documents connecting any name changes
- One accepted proof of U.S. citizenship or lawful presence
- Social Security number, or DL-13 affidavit if ineligible
- Two printed Texas residency proofs with your name and residential address
- Parent or guardian authorization, or evidence of an applicable waiver
- Texas driver education classroom-completion certificate
- High school diploma, GED or completed VOE form
- Proof of passing the knowledge exam, if already completed through driver education
- Payment for the applicable learner-license application fee
- Be ready for vision screening
- Insurance for each vehicle you own, or sign the no-vehicle statement
- Your Texas ID card, if you already have one
Source: official Texas document list · Checked 2026-10-05. Conditions and exceptions for each item are on the full printable checklist, with a source for every item.
Practice the Texas permit test now
500 questions written from the official Texas driver manual. Free, no signup, with an explanation and the manual quote for every answer.
Your 3-stage Texas study path
- Stage 1: Study the sheets. Read the Texas cheat sheet for signs, numbers, and must-know rules.
- Stage 2: Drill topics. Run the free Texas practice test with instant explanations until weak topics turn green.
- Stage 3: Practice the whole bank. Practice with explanations for every answer.
Texas verified practice bank · 500 questions · Page updated 2026-10-12
Before your Texas knowledge test
Cost details
- The $16 learner license is for applicants under 18 and expires at 18; a new license costs $33 at ages 18-84 or $9 at 85+. Official cost source
- Teen applicants may pass the knowledge exam through driver education or take it at DPS if not already completed. Official cost source
Before you apply
These notes cover selected application steps. Check the linked official instructions for the full requirements for your situation.
- Schedule a DPS appointment and arrange parent/guardian consent, either in person or through the notarized application. Official application instructions
- Bring the driver education certificate, test completion evidence if applicable, and a current VOE or diploma/GED; VOE validity is 30 days, or 90 for June-August issuance. Official application instructions
Cost and application notes checked .
Quick facts
Minimum permit age
15 years old, after starting an approved driver education course
Permit fee
Learner license (under 18), new: $16 (expires on your 18th birthday)
Initial license fee
$16 under 18; $33 ages 18-84 for eight years; $9 age 85+ for two years
Passing score
You must score a grade of 70 percent or better to pass any knowledge exam
Retake fee
A new application and fee are required after 90 days or three failed exams; the application fee varies by applicant.
Supervised driving before road test
Must hold learner license 6 months and complete required behind-the-wheel practice via driver ed; DPS does not itemize a specific hour count outside the course
Documents to bring
Completed application, proof of citizenship/lawful presence, TX residency, identity, Social Security number, driver ed certificate, Impact Texas Driver certificate for road test
Find an office / appointment
Texas DPS provides a Driver License Office Locations search tool and Appointments page; all driver license/ID services are by appointment only via txdpsscheduler.com, though walk-ins can use an in-office kiosk to book same-day slots if available.
REAL ID status
REAL ID available; Texas began issuing REAL ID compliant cards (star in upper right) Oct 10, 2016. A DPS 'REAL ID Document Check' tool helps applicants prepare. Federal enforcement date May 7, 2025.
Motorcycle license
Endorsement at 15 (250cc or less restriction until 16, removed after skills test); requires TDLR-approved rider course completion certificate.
Commercial license (CDL)
Commercial Learner's Permit must be held 14 days before the skills exam.
Official source: Texas DPS - Driver License Division
Things like renewing registration, REAL ID, or a change of address are outside what this page covers -- go straight to the official Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) for licenses + Texas DMV for vehicle registration site.
Texas DMV fees at a glance
| Fee | Official figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Permit fee | Learner license (under 18), new: $16 (expires on your 18th birthday) | source |
| Initial license fee | $16 under 18; $33 ages 18-84 for eight years; $9 age 85+ for two years | source |
| Retake fee | A new application and fee are required after 90 days or three failed exams; the application fee varies by applicant. | source |
Studying for it? Take the free Texas DMV practice test (500 questions, instant explanations, no signup).
What a Texas driver license covers
Initial license fee: $16 under 18; $33 ages 18-84 for eight years; $9 age 85+ for two years (official source)
REAL ID status: REAL ID available; Texas began issuing REAL ID compliant cards (star in upper right) Oct 10, 2016. A DPS 'REAL ID Document Check' tool helps applicants prepare. Federal enforcement date May 7, 2025. (official source)
See a real Texas license sample on the official DMV site (Texas DPS - Driver License Division) →
The gold star marks a REAL ID compliant card. Many states hand you a paper interim license the day you pass and mail the physical card later; the interim paper generally works for driving but not for TSA airport ID. Check the official Texas DMV site for exact card timelines.
Getting a license in Texas
Getting your first permit
In Texas, the minimum permit age is 15 years old, after starting an approved driver education course. When you apply for a permit or license, bring: completed application, proof of citizenship/lawful presence, TX residency, identity, Social Security number, driver ed certificate, Impact Texas Driver certificate for road test. Texas DPS provides a Driver License Office Locations search tool and Appointments page; all driver license/ID services are by appointment only via txdpsscheduler.com, though walk-ins can use an in-office kiosk to book same-day slots if available.
Fees, retakes, and practice hours
Before the road test, the state requires must hold learner license 6 months and complete required behind-the-wheel practice via driver ed; DPS does not itemize a specific hour count outside the course.
REAL ID, motorcycle, and CDL
REAL ID available; Texas began issuing REAL ID compliant cards (star in upper right) Oct 10, 2016. A DPS 'REAL ID Document Check' tool helps applicants prepare. Federal enforcement date May 7, 2025. For a motorcycle license: endorsement at 15 (250cc or less restriction until 16, removed after skills test); requires TDLR-approved rider course completion certificate. For a commercial license (CDL): commercial Learner's Permit must be held 14 days before the skills exam.
The Texas bank has 500 questions across 9 topics
Texas motorcycle permit practice test: free questions from the official Texas motorcycle handbook, each with an explanation and the handbook page.
Texas CDL practice test: free questions from Section 5 of the official Texas Commercial Driver Handbook, each with an explanation and the handbook page.
Test day: what to bring and where to go: a printable Texas checklist of the documents for the permit test, plus the official office finder and appointment links.
Study the handbook, chapter by chapter: 19 free lessons that boil the Texas driver manual down to the rules and exact numbers on the test, each quoted with its page.
The Texas questions learners miss most: ranked from anonymous first-attempt answers on this site, each with the correct answer and its handbook lesson.
One Texas permit test question a day
A free email each morning with one real practice question, the answer at the bottom, and the manual page it comes from. Confirm by email first; unsubscribe in one click.
