DMV Wyoming · Fees, age, and practice test
Wyoming Permit Test: Cost, Age, and DMV Facts
Start the free Wyoming practice testSourced procedural facts for Wyoming DMV, plus a free 200-question practice test with real sign images and audio.
How much does the Wyoming permit test cost?
WYDOT lists $45 for a new Class C license or permit; its fee list does not identify a separate noncommercial written-test charge.
- Learner permit / application fee: $45 for a new Class C learner permit.
- Knowledge (written) test fee: WYDOT lists $45 for a new Class C license or permit; its fee list does not identify a separate noncommercial written-test charge.
- Initial driver license fee: $45 for a new Class C license; renewal is $35.
Source: Wyoming DOT Driver Services - Driver License · Fee source checked 2026-10-05. Our 200-question Wyoming practice test is free and separate from these DMV fees.
Your 3-stage Wyoming study path
- Stage 1: Study the sheets. Read the Wyoming cheat sheet for signs, numbers, and must-know rules.
- Stage 2: Drill topics. Run the free Wyoming practice test with instant explanations until weak topics turn green.
- Stage 3: Simulate the exam. Take the timed exam simulator under real test conditions.
Wyoming verified practice bank · 200 questions rev 2026-10-12-ca500
Before your Wyoming knowledge test
Cost details
- The $45 figure is the new Class C credential fee. Card payments are available at some offices with an additional charge. Official cost source
Before you apply
These notes cover selected application steps. Check the linked official instructions for the full requirements for your situation.
- Visit a driver exam office for the photograph, written exam and vision screening; you can start the process through oneWYO. Official application instructions
- Review WYDOT’s linked document requirements before the visit; a parent or guardian must sign for applicants under 18. Official application instructions
Cost and application notes checked .
Quick facts
Minimum permit age
15 years old for a regular learner's (instruction) permit
Knowledge test fee
WYDOT lists $45 for a new Class C license or permit; its fee list does not identify a separate noncommercial written-test charge.
Permit fee
$45 for a new Class C learner permit.
Initial license fee
$45 for a new Class C license; renewal is $35.
Retake wait after failing
Not specified on official pages; contact local exam station for retake policy
Supervised driving before road test
50 hours behind-the-wheel, including 10 hours of night driving, before the driving skills test for the intermediate permit
Documents to bring
Documents vary by citizenship status (see the official documents-required pages for US citizens vs non-citizens)
Find an office / appointment
Wyoming Driver Services lists district and county office info; the oneWYO online portal handles renewals and duplicates without an office visit.
REAL ID status
Wyoming driver licenses and ID cards are REAL ID compliant (marked with a black star since 2019). Federal deadline May 7, 2025.
Motorcycle license
No explicit standalone minimum age stated for Class M; WYDOT Basic Rider Course accepts riders 15+ and completion waives all knowledge/skills testing requirements for the license.
Commercial license (CDL)
Minimum age 18 to apply for a Commercial Learner's Permit; requires knowledge test, vision screening, and a skills test before the CLP (valid 365 days) expires; DOT medical card if applicable.
Official source: Wyoming DOT Driver Services - Driver License
Things like renewing registration, REAL ID, or a change of address are outside what this page covers -- go straight to the official Wyoming Department of Transportation, Driver Services site.
How much is the Wyoming permit test?
Wyoming knowledge test fee: WYDOT lists $45 for a new Class C license or permit; its fee list does not identify a separate noncommercial written-test charge. (official source). Permit fee: $45 for a new Class C learner permit. (official source).
Wyoming DMV fees at a glance
| Fee | Official figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Knowledge test fee | WYDOT lists $45 for a new Class C license or permit; its fee list does not identify a separate noncommercial written-test charge. | source |
| Permit fee | $45 for a new Class C learner permit. | source |
| Initial license fee | $45 for a new Class C license; renewal is $35. | source |
Studying for it? Take the free Wyoming DMV practice test (200 questions, instant explanations, no signup).
What a Wyoming driver license covers
Initial license fee: $45 for a new Class C license; renewal is $35. (official source)
REAL ID status: Wyoming driver licenses and ID cards are REAL ID compliant (marked with a black star since 2019). Federal deadline May 7, 2025. (official source)
The gold star marks a REAL ID compliant card. Many states hand you a paper interim license the day you pass and mail the physical card later; the interim paper generally works for driving but not for TSA airport ID. Check the official Wyoming DMV site for exact card timelines.
Getting a license in Wyoming
Getting your first permit
In Wyoming, the minimum permit age is 15 years old for a regular learner's (instruction) permit. When you apply for a permit or license, bring: documents vary by citizenship status (see the official documents-required pages for US citizens vs non-citizens). Wyoming Driver Services lists district and county office info; the oneWYO online portal handles renewals and duplicates without an office visit.
Fees, retakes, and practice hours
WYDOT lists $45 for a new Class C license or permit; its fee list does not identify a separate noncommercial written-test charge. If you fail the knowledge test: not specified on official pages; contact local exam station for retake policy. Before the road test, the state requires 50 hours behind-the-wheel, including 10 hours of night driving, before the driving skills test for the intermediate permit.
REAL ID, motorcycle, and CDL
Wyoming driver licenses and ID cards are REAL ID compliant (marked with a black star since 2019). Federal deadline May 7, 2025. For a motorcycle license: no explicit standalone minimum age stated for Class M; WYDOT Basic Rider Course accepts riders 15+ and completion waives all knowledge/skills testing requirements for the license. For a commercial license (CDL): minimum age 18 to apply for a Commercial Learner's Permit; requires knowledge test, vision screening, and a skills test before the CLP (valid 365 days) expires; DOT medical card if applicable.
The Wyoming bank has 200 questions across 9 topics
Test day: what to bring and where to go: a printable Wyoming checklist of the documents for the permit test, plus the official office finder and appointment links.
Study the handbook, chapter by chapter: 18 free lessons that boil the Wyoming driver manual down to the rules and exact numbers on the test, each quoted with its page.
One Wyoming permit test question a day
A free email each morning with one real practice question, the answer at the bottom, and the manual page it comes from. Confirm by email first; unsubscribe in one click.
QualitySpace is expanding to Wyoming
We are a California-based independent insurance brokerage working on licensing in more states. We cannot help with Wyoming insurance yet. Leave your email and we will let you know when we can.
