DMV Alabama · Fees, age, and practice test
Alabama Permit Test: Cost, Age, and DMV Facts
Start the free Alabama practice testSourced procedural facts for Alabama DMV, plus a free 500-question practice test with real sign images and audio.
Free Alabama DMV practice test with 500 practice questions written from the official Alabama Driver Manual, each with an explanation and a handbook page citation. No signup and no ads. Page updated 2026-10-19.
Also here: flashcards for the whole bank, a one-page cheat sheet, handbook lessons, chapter by chapter, and audio read-aloud for questions.
How many questions are on the Alabama permit test?
The official Alabama sources we have on file do not state a question count or a passing score, so we do not publish one. Check the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency Driver License before test day.
How much does the Alabama permit test cost?
$5 exam fee
- Learner permit / application fee: $36.25 Stage I learner license, separate from the $5 exam; county fees may be higher
- Initial driver license fee: $36.25 initial license; some counties may charge more
Source: Alabama Law Enforcement Agency Driver License · Fee source checked 2026-10-05. Our 500-question Alabama practice test is free and separate from these DMV fees.
What do I need to bring to the Alabama DMV for a permit?
The official Alabama checklist for a permit has 8 items, covering identity, lawful presence, Social Security number, residency, driver education, fees and vision test.
- Under 18: Age 15: a certified U.S. birth certificate from Vital Statistics (no photocopies)
- Age 16 and older: two forms of ID, at least one with a photo and one from the primary list (or three non-photo forms)
- Not a U.S. citizen: a valid foreign passport with an acceptable visa, or a resident alien card
- Your original Social Security card
- Two proofs of principal residence, such as a lease, a utility bill under 90 days old, or voter registration card
- Under 18: School enrollment form (DL-1/93) or proof of graduation, if you are under 19 and applying for the first time
- $5 test fee plus $36.25 for the license, in cash or money order (no checks)
- Your glasses or contacts, if you use them: there is a vision screening, and needing lenses adds a corrective lenses restriction
Source: official Alabama document list · Checked 2026-09-29. Conditions and exceptions for each item are on the full printable checklist, with a source for every item.
Practice the Alabama permit test now
500 questions written from the official Alabama driver manual. Free, no signup, with an explanation and the manual quote for every answer.
Your 3-stage Alabama study path
- Stage 1: Study the sheets. Read the Alabama cheat sheet for signs, numbers, and must-know rules.
- Stage 2: Drill topics. Run the free Alabama practice test with instant explanations until weak topics turn green.
- Stage 3: Practice the whole bank. Practice with explanations for every answer.
Alabama verified practice bank · 500 questions · Page updated 2026-10-19
Before your Alabama knowledge test
Cost details
- The $5 exam charge and $36.25 Stage I learner license charge are separate; some counties charge higher license fees. Official cost source
- ALEA charges $5 for each knowledge-test attempt and does not accept checks for testing. Official cost source
Before you apply
These notes cover selected application steps. Check the linked official instructions for the full requirements for your situation.
- At age 15, prepare a certified birth certificate, Social Security documentation, school enrollment/graduation proof and two residence proofs. Official application instructions
- Applicants 16 and older should use ALEA’s age-specific identity list; first-time applicants younger than 19 need school enrollment/graduation proof. Official application instructions
Cost and application notes checked .
Quick facts
Minimum permit age
15 years old
Permit fee
$36.25 Stage I learner license, separate from the $5 exam; county fees may be higher
Initial license fee
$36.25 initial license; some counties may charge more
Retake fee
The fee for each knowledge test is $5.00, no checks accepted
Supervised driving before road test
50 hours behind the wheel, or an approved driver education course
Find an office / appointment
ALEA provides a Driver License Locations Map and county directory, plus a Schedule DL Appointment link at alabamadl.alea.gov; appointments are not stated as mandatory.
REAL ID status
STAR ID (Alabama's REAL ID) originals are issued at ALEA exam offices; see ALEA's STAR ID Document List for required documents. Federal enforcement began May 7, 2025 for domestic air travel.
Motorcycle license
Class M is Alabama's motorcycle license class; a separate Motor Driven Cycle restriction (B) also exists.
Commercial license (CDL)
Minimum age 18 for intrastate-only Class A CDL (no Haz-Mat/passenger endorsement); age 21 for full interstate CDL privileges/Haz-Mat. Requires CLP held 14+ days, knowledge and skills tests, DOT medical certification, and Entry Level Driver Training.
Official source: Alabama Law Enforcement Agency Driver License
Things like renewing registration, REAL ID, or a change of address are outside what this page covers -- go straight to the official Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) Driver License Division site.
Alabama DMV fees at a glance
| Fee | Official figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Permit fee | $36.25 Stage I learner license, separate from the $5 exam; county fees may be higher | source |
| Initial license fee | $36.25 initial license; some counties may charge more | source |
| Retake fee | The fee for each knowledge test is $5.00, no checks accepted | source |
Studying for it? Take the free Alabama DMV practice test (500 questions, instant explanations, no signup).
What a Alabama driver license covers
Initial license fee: $36.25 initial license; some counties may charge more (official source)
REAL ID status: STAR ID (Alabama's REAL ID) originals are issued at ALEA exam offices; see ALEA's STAR ID Document List for required documents. Federal enforcement began May 7, 2025 for domestic air travel. (official source)
The gold star marks a REAL ID compliant card. Many states hand you a paper interim license the day you pass and mail the physical card later; the interim paper generally works for driving but not for TSA airport ID. Check the official Alabama DMV site for exact card timelines.
Getting a license in Alabama
Getting your first permit
In Alabama, the minimum permit age is 15 years old. ALEA provides a Driver License Locations Map and county directory, plus a Schedule DL Appointment link at alabamadl.alea.gov; appointments are not stated as mandatory.
Fees, retakes, and practice hours
Before the road test, the state requires 50 hours behind the wheel, or an approved driver education course.
REAL ID, motorcycle, and CDL
STAR ID (Alabama's REAL ID) originals are issued at ALEA exam offices; see ALEA's STAR ID Document List for required documents. Federal enforcement began May 7, 2025 for domestic air travel. For a motorcycle license: class M is Alabama's motorcycle license class; a separate Motor Driven Cycle restriction (B) also exists. For a commercial license (CDL): minimum age 18 for intrastate-only Class A CDL (no Haz-Mat/passenger endorsement); age 21 for full interstate CDL privileges/Haz-Mat. Requires CLP held 14+ days, knowledge and skills tests, DOT medical certification, and Entry Level Driver Training.
The Alabama bank has 500 questions across 9 topics
Test day: what to bring and where to go: a printable Alabama checklist of the documents for the permit test, plus the official office finder and appointment links.
Study the handbook, chapter by chapter: 25 free lessons that boil the Alabama driver manual down to the rules and exact numbers on the test, each quoted with its page.
The Alabama questions learners miss most: ranked from anonymous first-attempt answers on this site, each with the correct answer and its handbook lesson.
One Alabama permit test question a day
A free email each morning with one real practice question, the answer at the bottom, and the manual page it comes from. Confirm by email first; unsubscribe in one click.
